Formula Student Germany – From Lecture Room to Pit Lane.

We’re passionate competitors in the battle for pole position.

When there’s Formula 1-style tension in the air at the Hockenheimring race track in Southwestern Germany but no sign of Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel and co. then it must be time for Formula Student! Every year as the summer draws to a close, students from around the world meet up for five days at the Hockenheimring, to compete with one another in their self-designed and constructed race cars in an electrifying Formula 1 atmosphere and at the same time impress experts from business and industry with the performance of their cars.

Formula Student is an international competition that every year attracts more than 500 university teams. Each team drafts, designs and constructs its own formula race car with great passion and determination, ready to compete with other teams from around the world. Following scrutinizing by a jury of experts from the motor sport, automobile and supplier industries, these prototypes are sent out onto the track. Here they compete in a range of disciplines such as the reliability of the cars, the lowest fuel consumption, the best acceleration or the most impressive dynamic handling.

In Formula Student, though, it’s not the team with the fastest car that wins, but the one with the best overall package of technical construction, racing performance, financial planning and sales arguments. Taking part in the Formula Student competition gives the team members an opportunity to put their knowledge and skills to the test in actual practice and at the same time acquire key qualifications that will prove very useful when it comes to launching their careers. They get to add practical experience to their theoretical studies, becoming familiar with aspects of design and production, the economics of automobile manufacturing, project management and scheduling, interdisciplinary collaboration and communications.

For many years now, Knorr-Bremse has been an “Official Partner” to four Formula Student Germany teams: “municHMotorsport” from Munich University of Applied Sciences, “Ecurie Aix” from RWTH Aachen University, “TUfast Racing Team” from the Technical University of Munich and “Fast Forest” from Deggendorf Institute of Technology. Every year we provide dedicated support to “our” students and have great fun helping them battle for pole position, providing not only technical expertise but funding as well. One core aspect of the competition is designing a car that is lightweight and agile. To help make this happen, based on the teams’ construction drawings our prototyping department handles the production of highly sensitive components for the chassis, engine and pedals. This way we make an important contribution to reaching the teams’ ambitious goals in terms of the cars’ weight and performance.

Below is a list of the websites of the four Formula Student teams that we at Knorr-Bremse support. There you will find all kinds of fascinating facts about the teams, including links to their YouTube videos, Facebook sites, photos on Flickr, and much more besides.

TUfast Racing Team, Technical University of Munich: http://tufast-racingteam.de

municHMotorsport, Munich University of Applied Sciences: https://www.munichmotorsport.de

Ecurie Aix, RWTH Aachen University: http://www.ecurie-aix.rwth-aachen.de

Fast Forest, Deggendorf Institute of Technology: http://www.fast-forest.de

If you have any questions about Formula Student at Knorr-Bremse, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us!

Florence Broecheler

Teams Munich

Tel.: +49 89 3547 2333

E-mail: florence.broecheler@knorr-bremse.com

Katharina Leisten

Team Deggendorf

Tel.: +49 8543 309299

E-mail: katharina.leisten@knorr-bremse.com

Berna Tulga-Akcan

Team Aachen

Tel.: +49 89 3547 1814

E-mail: berna.tulga-akcan@knorr-bremse.com

Further information

Share

Formula Student Germany – Motorsport statt Hörsaal.

Mit Herzblut sind wir dabei beim Wettkampf um die Pole Position.

Wenn am Hockenheimring in Baden-Württemberg aufgeregte Formel-1-Stimmung herrscht und von Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel und Co. jede Spur fehlt, dann ist Formula-Student-Zeit! Jedes Jahr im Spätsommer treffen sich Studenten aus aller Welt für fünf Tage am Hockenheimring, um in Formel-1-Atmosphäre ihre selbstkonstruierten Rennwagen miteinander zu messen und dabei Fachleute aus Industrie und Wirtschaft von deren Leistungsfähigkeit zu überzeugen.

Die Formula Student ist ein internationaler Wettbewerb, bei dem jährlich über 500 Hochschulteams teilnehmen. Jedes Team konzeptioniert, designt und fertigt mit großer Leidenschaft und Kampfgeist einen eigenen Formelrennwagen, um damit gegen Teams aus der ganzen Welt anzutreten. Nach der strengen Prüfung durch eine Jury, die sich aus Experten der Motorsport-, Automobil- und Zulieferindustrie zusammensetzt, werden die Prototypen auf die Rennstrecke geschickt. Dort konkurrieren sie in verschiedenen Disziplinen um Kriterien wie Dauerbelastbarkeit der Rennwagen, den geringsten Benzinverbrauch, die größte Beschleunigung oder die beste Fahrdynamik.

Bei der Formula Student gewinnt jedoch nicht das Team mit dem schnellsten Auto, sondern das mit dem besten Gesamtpaket aus technischer Konstruktion, Rennperformance, Finanzwirtschaftlicher Planung und Vertriebsargumenten. Durch die Teilnahme am Formula-Student-Wettbewerb haben die Teammitglieder die Chance, ihr Wissen und Können im Praxistest unter Beweis zu stellen und zugleich Schlüsselqualifikationen zu erwerben, die für ihren späteren Berufseinstieg sehr hilfreich sind. Sie ergänzen ihr theoretisches Studium um intensive praktische Erfahrungen mit der Konstruktion und Fertigung, den wirtschaftlichen Aspekten des Automobilbaus, im Projekt- und Zeitmanagement, in der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit sowie in der Kommunikation.

Seit vielen Jahren ist Knorr-Bremse „Official Partner“ von vier Formula-Student-Teams: „municHMotorsport“ der Hochschule München, „Ecurie Aix“ der RWTH Aachen, „TUfast Racing Team“ der TU München und "Fast Forest" der Technischen Hochschule Deggendorf. Mit viel Herzblut und jeder Menge Spaß an der Sache kämpfen wir mit den Studentinnen und Studenten Jahr für Jahr um die Pole Position und stehen den Teams mit technischem Know-how und Finanzmitteln zur Seite. Ein ganz zentraler Teilbereich des Wettbewerbs ist ein agiles und leichtes Fahrzeugkonzept. Wir übernehmen dabei im eigenen Prototypenbau – auf Basis der Konstruktionszeichnungen der Teams – die Herstellung sensibler Bauteile für Fahrwerk, Motor und Pedalerie. Damit können wir einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten, um die hoch gesteckten Ziele in Bezug auf Gewicht und Leistungsfähigkeit der Fahrzeuge zu erreichen.

Nachstehend die Webadressen zu den vier Formula-Student-Teams, die wir bei Knorr-Bremse unterstützen. Dort findet Ihr alles Spannende und Wissenswerte rund um die Mannschaften – u. a. Links zu Videos der Teams auf YouTube, zu facebook-Kanälen, zu Bildern auf flickr, etc.

TUfast Racing Team der TU München: http://tufast-racingteam.de

municHMotorsport der Hochschule München: https://www.munichmotorsport.de

Ecurie Aix der RWTH Aachen: http://www.ecurie-aix.rwth-aachen.de

Fast Forest der Technischen Hochschule Deggendorf: http://www.fast-forest.de

Bei Fragen rund um Formula Student bei Knorr-Bremse kommt gerne auf uns zu!

Florence Broecheler

Teams München

Tel.: +49 89 3547 2333

E-Mail: florence.broecheler@knorr-bremse.com

Katharina Leisten

Team Deggendorf

Tel.: +49 8543 309299

E-Mail: katharina.leisten@knorr-bremse.com

Berna Tulga-Akcan

Team Aachen

Tel.: +49 89 3547 1814

E-Mail: berna.tulga-akcan@knorr-bremse.com

Zusätzliche Informationen

Share